Skip to content

Thundery…and rainy….

March 6, 2010

It is thundering, and raining, and hailing outside at the moment. Tropical Melbourne.

Last night H.W and myself went to see Booka Shade at the Forum. The Forum is without question my favourite live music venue in Melbourne. Sure there are loads of reasons as to why it is not a great venue; not enough standing space, not the best acoustics, poor ventilation etc. etc.

And yet, I love it. I love it because it is such unusual architecture, the lighting is always perfect for a music show and it feels so intimate. You, the band, your 1000 other friends and a night of dancing.

My all time favourite gig was at the forum- Nick Cave. I was 18, it was gothic overload….and to date it has kept the number one spot. Now, last night was not my all time favourite gig.

Booka Shade are techo-ish music, German Minimalists to be precise and they make some quite beautiful music. Music which blurs the line between classical and super modern. Music which shows how machines can enhance the human. They are also dedicated showmen, put the most into a show, so their live music with the lighting show and in the forum it should have been special.

But it wasn’t. It was great, and in those moments I could transport myself and convince myself I was alone with music it was superb. Yet the crowd was obnoxious, pushy, rude and not totally there for the music as much as for the “being seen”. Groups of girls pushed to the front- ignoring social rules of first in best dressed save for instances that your whole group of friends are in front, there is a very tall person obsuring your view or you are pretty certain you and the lead singer are meant to have a “moment” and you need to catch their eye (if you are going to call this one, you need to be  at least 78% sure and can only call it once, maybe twice in a lifetime).

This crowd ignored these rules. They smoked, in a non-smoking venue (which all venues are in Melbourne) and a highly flamable venue with poor fire exits. They pushed. They popped endless pills. They were more interested in screaming “oh my god HELLLLLOOO!!” to their friends or having extravagently over the top pashes then they were to feel, listen, enjoy the music.

Don’t they have longue rooms, much cheaper, they could have that experience in?

I feel nasty complaining, and a little old mother goose-ish. But I was a little concerned at the selfishness of the crowd.

Still we had fun. HW and I, we always do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

